Skip to main content

County offices closed May 27th

Macomb County offices will be closed on Monday, May 27th in observance of Memorial Day. Online services are available 24/7.

Local communities

Macomb County’s 27 communities range from walkable and suburban in the southern and central areas, to rural and remote in the northern end.

Map of macomb county regions

Macomb County is located in northern Metro Detroit. It is the state’s third most populated county and it features a thriving collective of 27 cities, villages and townships with unique offerings that make it a desirable place to buy a home, work, start a business, raise a family, enjoy leisure activities and much more. 

The County’s fruitful agricultural land, mature suburbs and dynamic urban clusters can be broken into three distinct regions: North, Central and South.


Along  the County’s northern border is an area rich with history and agriculture. This region features 11 communities, including: Armada Township, Armada Village, Bruce Township, Lenox Township, Memphis, New Haven, Ray Township, Romeo, Richmond City, Richmond Township and Washington Township.


The central region of the County is a bustling suburban area full of natural resources and cultural amenities. It features nine communities, including: Chesterfield Township, Clinton Township, Harrison Township, Macomb Township, Mount Clemens, New Baltimore, Shelby Township, Sterling Heights and Utica.


The County’s southern region has quaint communities with quick access to major thoroughfares, waterways and the area’s urban downtown district. It features seven municipalities, including: Center Line, Eastpointe, Fraser, Grosse Pointe Shores, Roseville, St. Clair Shores and Warren.


Each region has its own unique set of amenities. Check out what they have to offer by visiting the interactive Macomb County amenity map.