

## Macomb County Executive Mark A. Hackel

Mark F. Deldin Deputy County Executive

Name of Board/Commission: Community Corrections Advisory Board

**Appointing Authority:** Executive (non-statutory members)

**Origin:** PA 511 (1988)

## **Function**

Macomb County Community Corrections is a community based punishment and rehabilitative program aimed at relieving prison and jail overcrowding through Court-approved sentencing alternatives. Non-violent offenders are placed into community sanctions, rather than in jail or prison, to free-up corrections space for more serious offenders. Rehabilitative and monitoring options include substance abuse inpatient and outpatient treatment, daily reporting services, urine testing, community service work, job training assistance, cognitive restructuring and pre-trial release supervision.

If a county wishes to apply for funding and other assistance under the Department of Corrections – Community Corrections Act, then MCL §791.406 requires the creation of this Advisory Board.

There is no statutorily mandated compensation for these Board members and no payments are being made at this time.

## **Membership Composition:**

Macomb County Sheriff or his/ her designee;

Macomb County Prosecutor or his/her designee;

Macomb County Circuit Court judge or his/her designee;

A Macomb County District Court judge or his/her designee;

A Macomb County Probate Court Judge or his/her designee;

A chief of a city police department in Macomb County or

his/her designee;

One (1) member from either: mental health, substance

abuse, public health, employment and training or

community alternative programs;

A Criminal Defense attorney;

Business community;

Communications media;

A circuit court probation agent OR district court probation

officer;

Representative from the general public;

**County Commissioner** 

Work Force Investment Board.

Term:

The Sheriff and Prosecutor shall serve on said Board for the duration of their terms of office. All other members of the board shall serve terms of three years each or until his/her successor is appointed.

**Meeting Schedule:** 

As announced

## **Current Members:**

Membership/ Composition:	<b>Current Members:</b>	Term Expires
County Sheriff (duration of term of office)	Sheriff Anthony Wickersham	Indefinite
County Prosecutor (duration of term of office)	Prosecutor Pete Lucido	Indefinite
Criminal Defense Attorney (2 years)	Stephen Rabaut	3/31/2024
Business Community	VACANCY	3/31/2022
Commissioner (2 years)	Michelle Nard	03/31/2023
Communications Media (2 years)	Keith Demers	3/31/2022
Probation Department	Damon Hawkins	3/31/2024
Chief of Police	Chief Fred Posavetz	3/31/2023
Substance Abuse	Helen Klingert	3/31/2022
Probate Court	Hon. Sandra Harrison	3/31/2023
District Court	Hon. Joseph C. Oster	3/31/2024
Circuit Court	Hon. Diane Druzinski	3/31/2022
Workforce Board	Patty Madigan	3/31/2024
Community Member	Joel Rutherford	3/31/2024

For more information, contact Barbara Caskey at (586) 307-9465 REV. 01/2022