Judges of the 16th Circuit 1818 to present

Christian Clemens, Chief Justice, 1818-1829¹

Daniel LeRoy, Assistant Justice²

William Thompson, Assistant Justice

Zepheniah W. Bunce, Chief Justice, 1822-27³

Samuel Ward, Associate Justice, 1822-27⁴

Thomas Oakes, Associate Justice, 1822-27⁵

Ellis Doty, Assistant Justice, 1825⁶

James Connor, Assistant Justice

Elisha Harrington, Assistant Justice

Daniel Thurston, Assistant Justice, 1828⁷

Calvin Davis, Assistant Justice, 1826⁸

Henry Chipman, Circuit Judge, 1828⁹

William Woodbridge, Circuit Judge, 1828-30¹⁰

Solomon Sibley, Circuit Judge, 1827-32¹¹

William A. Fletcher, Circuit Judge

Ross Wilkins, Circuit Judge, 1932¹²

George Morell, Circuit Judge, retired 1843. 13

William A. Burt, Assistant Justice, 1833

¹ Circuit Court judges from 1818 to 1906 from The Bench and Bar of Macomb County by Dwight N Lowell.

² LeRoy and Thompson presided with Clemens on July 13, 1818 where they heard the case of Trombley versus Dupree.

³ History of St. Clair County, Michigan

⁴ *Id*.

⁵ *Id*

⁶ Journal of the Proceedings of the Legislative Council by Michigan Legislative Counsel, 1832.

 $^{^{7}}$ Id

⁸ https://mdoe.state.mi.us/legislators/Legislator/LegislatorDetail/2640, accessed January 28, 2020.

⁹ History of St. Clair County, Michigan.

¹⁰ *Id*.

¹¹ *Id*.

¹² *Id*.

¹³ History of Macomb County, 1882.

Willard Guild, Assistant Justice, 1833

Samuel Axford, Assistant Justice, 1836

Horace Stevens, Associate Justice, 1840

Azariah Prentiss, Assistant Justice, 1840.

Hiron Hathaway, Assistant Justice, 1840

Jacob Summers, Assistant Justice, 1844

Alex Tackels, Assistant Justice, 1844

John J. Leonard, Assistant Justice, 1846

Charles Marble, Assistant Justice, 1846

Alfred Ashley, Assistant Justice, 1848

Hiram Andrews, Assistant Justice, 1848

Abner C. Smith, Assistant Justice, 1850

Samuel P. Canfield, Assistant Justice, 1850

Benjamin F. H. Witherell, Circuit Judge, 1823¹⁴

Daniel Goodwin, Circuit Judge

Warner Wing, Circuit Judge, 1850¹⁵

Samuel T. Douglass, Circuit Judge

Sanford M. Green, Circuit Judge of the Fourth Circuit, 1848-1867; Eighteenth Circuit, 1872. 16

James S. Dewey, Circuit Court Judge, 1867-1869

William M. Mitchell, Circuit Judge, 1869-72.

Edward W. Harris, Circuit Judge, 1873-81.

Herman W. Stevens, Circuit Court, 1882-87.

Arthur L. Canfield, Circuit Judge, 1888-93.¹⁷

James B. Eldredge, Circuit Judge, 1894-99.

¹⁶ History of St. Clair County, Michigan.

¹⁴ Journal of the Proceedings of the Legislative Council by Michigan Legislative Counsel, 1832.

¹⁵ History of Macomb County, 1882.

¹⁷ First resident Circuit Judge of Macomb County.

Samuel W. Vance, elected April 13, 1899, Circuit Judge, 31st Judicial Circuit. 18

O'Brien J. Atkinson, appointed May 19, 1899, Circuit Judge, 31st Judicial Circuit.

Frank Whipple, appointed April 13, 1900, Circuit Judge 31st Judicial Circuit.

Nahum E. Thomas, elected Nov. 6, 1900, Circuit Judge, 31st Judicial Circuit.

James G. Tucker, Circuit Judge, 1900-05. 19

Eugene F. Law, appointed August 6, 1901, Circuit Judge, 31st Judicial Circuit.

Harvey Tappen, appointed April 19, 1902, Circuit Judge, 31st Judicial Circuit.

Byron R. Erskine, Circuit Judge, 1906-10.²⁰

Henry J. McKay, appointed November 30, 1910, served until Tucker's election.²¹

James G. Tucker, term began January 1, 1912, served until Reid's election. ²²

Neil E. Reid, term began January 1, 1924, served until Noe's election²³.

James E. Spier 1929-1970 (Longest Serving Macomb County Circuit Court Judge)

Alton H. Noe 1944-74

Howard R. Carroll 1956-78

George R. Deneweth, Jr. 1961-90

Edward J. Gallagher 1964-82

Frank E. Jeannette 1967-84

Walter P. Cynar 1967-78²⁴

Hunter D. Stair 1971-1979

Raymond R. Cashen 1975-96

Robert J. Chrzanowski 1975-92

Kenneth N. Sanborn 1978-90

¹⁸ The Bench and Bar of Macomb County by Dwight N. Lowell indicates these 31st Judicial Circuit Judges "are properly included in any statement of the Circuit Judges of the 16th Judicial Circuit." The circuits were not separated until April 1901.

¹⁹ Michigan Manual 1905-06.

²⁰ Michigan Manual 1911.

²² Michigan Manual 1913.

²³ Michigan Manual 1925-26.

²⁴ Michigan Manual 1969/70 includes George V. Boucher as a 16th Circuit Court Judge, but further research suggests he served in the 17th Circuit.

James C. Daner 1979-85

John G. Roskopp 1980-86

Lawrence P. Zatkoff 1982-86

John B. Bruff 1985-2000

Kathleen Jansen 1985-89 (First Female Macomb County Circuit Court Judge)

Michael D. Schwartz 1986-2000

Frederick D. Balkwill 1987-92

Deborah A. Servitto 1990-2006

George C. Steeh III 1990-98

Peter J. Maceroni 1991-2014

George E. Montgomery 1991-2002

Lido V. Bucci 1992-2000

Mary A. Chrzanowski 1993-2016

Pat M. Donofrio 1997-2002

Donald G. Miller 1998-2011

James M. Biernat, Sr. 2000-11

Edward A. Servitto 2001-present

Mark S. Switalski 2001-present

Richard L. Caretti 2002-present

Matthew S. Switalski 2003-present

Diane M. Druzinski 2003-present

Antonio Viviano 2003-10

Tracey Yokich 2005-present

John C. Foster 2006-15

David Viviano 2007-13

Kathryn Viviano 2011-present

James Biernat, Jr. 2011-present

Jennifer M. Faunce 2013-present

James M. Maceroni 2015-present

Joseph Toia 2015-present

Carl J. Marlinga 2017-present

Rachel Rancilio 2017-present

Michael E. Servitto 2017-present

Julie Gatti 2019-present