

MEETING MINUTES

Meeting: Macomb County - Federal Aid Committee (FAC) Winter 2023 Meeting

Date & Time: January 25, 2023, 2:00-4:00 PM

Location: Freedom Hill Banquet Hall, 15000 Metro Parkway, Sterling Heights, MI

Invitees: See attached Meeting Attendees list

1. Call to Order by the Chair – John Crumm, AICP, Director of Planning, Macomb County Department of Roads (MCDR)

a. John Crumm called the meeting to order at 2:20 PM. He thanked everyone for coming despite the weather and said everyone should have received a copy of the agenda packet last week.

2. Introductions

- a. Introductions were made around the room. See attendance roster.
- b. John Crumm specifically thanked the subcommittee for their work scoring the TIP projects.
- 3. Old Business None
- 4. New Business John Crumm
 - a. Minutes from special FAC meeting December 14, 2022
 - i. Motion to approve the minutes was made by Jim Van Tiflin and seconded by Bryan Babcock; there was no further discussion and the motion carried.
 - b. Fiscal Year (FY) 2023-2026 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) Update John Crumm, chair FAC TIP Subcommittee and Scott Wanagat, MCDR Highway Engineer and FAC TIP Subcommittee member
 - i. Withdraw 21 Mile Road from Phase II Consideration
 - 1. Macomb Township requested to remove both of the 21 Mile Road projects from Phase II consideration.
 - a. Jim Van Tiflin motioned to approve the request and Scott Lockwood seconded.
 - b. John Crumm explained communities can request the removal of projects and has been done in the past. After discussion with Macomb Township, it was determined that it was not an effective use of federal funds to widen 21 Mile Road at this time. The funds would be better used on Schoenherr Road, which still benefits Macomb Township.
 - c. John Crumm called for a vote. No one opposed; motion carried.



ii. TIP subcommittee recommendations

- 1. Brent Bashaw motioned to approve the TIP subcommittee recommendations and was seconded by Jim Van Tiflin.
- John Crumm went over the Phase II Recommendation memo, including available funding, and the financial and policy risk of approving widening projects. This is based off of FHWA's desire for logical termini for projects, as they are looking for a more wholistic, long-term fix as opposed to piecemealing fixes here and there.
- 3. Scoring for the Phase II projects used the same evaluation criteria as Phase I. The four widening projects scored within a few points of one another, with Schoenherr Road from 21 to 23 Mile recommended for prioritization and inclusion in the TIP as a widening from two to three lanes.
- 4. Also included in the recommendation is additional funding for Romeo Plank from 21 ½ to 23 Mile. This long-planned priority project will need additional EDC funds (\$3M estimated). Macomb County has applied for a Carbon Reduction Grant in the amount of \$1.5M for Romeo Plank. If the grant application is successful, then an equal amount of EDC funds will be made available for Schoenherr Road.
- 5. The following is a summary of responses to questions and comments regarding the Phase II Recommendations by the TIP Subcommittee:
 - a. The general policies that are used to decide which projects to fund, specifically referring to widening projects, include logical termini, the amount of time and effort for environmental assessments, and right-of-way analysis for the corridor. The state and federal level are looking for longer-term solutions with a planned action for a corridor. They are being more particular about this to avoid organizations skirting NEPA requirements.
 - b. Phase II recommendations followed the same criteria as Phase I. Scott Wanagat provided details about project scores for Phase II.
 - c. The FAC attempts to distribute project funding throughout the county.
 - d. Widening from 2 to 3 lanes rather than 2 to 5 lanes is more operational than capacity. Widening is a secondary priority for the county after rehabilitation with the understanding that certain areas in the county do need capacity changes. There is not a target split between expansion and widening projects.
 - e. Clinton Township and Roseville are sharing the cost for 14 Mile Road, Kelly Road to Gratiot Avenue.
- 6. John Crumm called for the vote; no one opposed; motion carried.

5. Information and Discussion

- a. **SEMCOG Update** Steve Brudzinski, SEMCOG
 - i. Carbon Reduction Program grant applications are due February 10th. Any questions can be sent to Steve at brudzinski@semcog.org or Chris at cwilliams@semcog.org.
 - ii. The Spring Amendment period closes Friday, January 27, 2023. Agencies can expect to



hear results in mid-May.

- iii. The Regional Transportation Plan (RTP) update is coming up. This is a 20-25 year vision and this one will be updated to 2050. Projects usually include larger capacity projects. The goal is to get an overall feel of how much of resources each FAC committee is planning to allocate to each type. If a community has a Transportation Asset Management Plan (TAMP), specific projects can be submitted. Otherwise, general amounts for each type is good. The RTP is more static than the Transportation Improvement Program (TIP), but it can still be amended.
- 6. Update from MDOT None
- 7. Public Comment None
- 8. Next Meeting
 - a. Summer meeting: Wednesday, June 28, 2023, 2:00 pm 4:00 PM, in-person, location TBD.
- 9. Adjourn
 - a. Motion to adjourn was made by Rick Stathakis and seconded by Scott Wanagat; motion carried.
 - b. The meeting was adjourned at 3:05pm.

Attachments: Meeting Attendees; Comments and questions submitted by Clinton

Township

Reviewed By: Roger Safford, Dustin Elliott, HNTB; John Crumm, Chair, MCDR

Submitted By: Danielle Gerlach

CC: File



Meeting Attendees/Agency or Firm Represented

- Al Loebach, Spalding DeDecker
- Brent Bashaw, Sterling Heights
- Bryan Babcock, St. Clair Shores
- Chris Liebert, St. Clair Shores
- Chuck Hart, HRC
- Crystal Kozak, Macomb Township
- Dan O'Leary, Clinton Township
- Danielle Gerlach, HNTB
- Denise Pike, St. Clair Shores
- Don Brown, Macomb BOC
- Dustin Elliott, HNTB
- Eric Kipp, Spalding DeDecker
- Frank Digiorgio, Bruce Township
- Gordie Wilson, Shelby Township
- James Van Tiflin, Macomb Township
- John Abraham, MCDR
- Ken Verkest, Harrison Township
- Kyle McKee, Macomb BOC
- Lisa Damon-Brown, Macomb BOC
- Louis Urban, Center Line
- Mary Bednar, Clinton Township
- Michael Vigneron, AEW
- Michele Fedorowicz, SEMCOG
- Nick Nicita, Hubbell, Roth and Clark
- Paul Gieleghem, Clinton Township Treasurer
- Phil Rode, John James
- Rick Stathakis, Shelby Township
- Roger Safford, HNTB
- Scott Chabot, Clinton Township
- Scott Lockwood, AEW
- Stanley Grot, Shelby Township Clerk
- Steve Brudzinski, SEMCOG
- Sylvia Grot, County Commissioner
- Tina Gapshes, City of Warren
- Vince Viviano, MCDR