MEETING SUMMARY

Meeting: Macomb County - Federal Aid Committee Winter 2022 Meeting

Date & Time: January 19, 2022, 1:30 to 3:00 PM

Location: Virtual (Microsoft Teams)

Invitees: See Meeting Attendees list

1. Call to Order by the Chair - Welcome and Introductions - John Crumm, AICP, Director of Planning, Macomb County Department of Roads (MCDR)

a. At 1:32 PM, John Crumm called the meeting to order.

2. Welcome Message - Bryan Santo, Director, MCDR

a. Bryan Santo welcomed everyone and recognized the Subcommittee, HNTB, the communities, and MDOT and SEMCOG representatives.

3. Old Business

- a. John Crumm asked Steve Brudzinski (SEMCOG) to provide an update on the process.
 - i. Steve Brudzinski said the federal Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act authorizes new types of programs.
 - ii. The federal budget hasn't been passed for the entire year, so Macomb County only has 1/3 of the obligation need for 2022.
 - iii. Communities should submit 2022 projects as soon as possible, as MDOT works on a first come, first served basis.
 - iv. Steve Brudzinski expressed his appreciation to the FAC and MCDR for their work.

4. New Business

- a. Minutes from Fall Meeting John Crumm, FAC Chair
 - i. Action to Approve Minutes from 9/29/21 Fall Meeting
 - 1. Motion to approve the minutes made by Jim Van Tiflin and seconded by Kevin Johnson; motion approved.
- b. FAC Policy Guide John Crumm, FAC Chair
 - i. Action to Approve FAC Policy Guide
 - John Crumm provided background and reviewed key components of the Policy Guide, including administrative and Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) policy information.
 - 2. Motion to approve the FAC Policy Guide made by Brent Bashaw and seconded by Scott Lockwood; motion approved.



- c. New 4 Year TIP Update Scott Wanagat, MCDR Highway Engineer
 i. Action to Approve TIP Subcommittee Recommendations
 - 1. Scott Wanagat explained the Subcommittee process, analysis, and recommendations, including:
 - a. He explained the two-phase approach to the TIP Update, including a Countywide Corridor Study to identify longer-term system investment priorities.
 - b. He indicated that the Study was needed to help ensure that the Macomb federal aid program meets all FHWA planning requirements and that all available federal funding would be utilized.
 - c. He pointed out that MDOT provided a letter of support.
 - d. He clarified that the Agency of Jurisdiction for the City of Eastpointe's Hayes Avenue project in Phase II should be the City, not MCDR, and recommended that this change be amended into the motion to approve the TIP Update.
 - 2. John Crumm asked the FAC if there were any questions.
 - a. Dennis Champine asked if the spreadsheet could be shown on the screen; Bryan Babcock forwarded it to Dennis, and Roger Safford displayed it.
 - b. Dennis Champine mentioned that he had some trouble logging into the meeting.
 - c. Bryan Babcock said the prior TIP included 2023, and since the Update includes 2023 also, he wondered if all the existing 2023 projects would happen.
 - i. John Crumm said the old TIP will be transferred to the Updated TIP, with some new projects added.
 - d. Bryan Babcock asked about Phases I vs. II.
 - i. Scott Wanagat clarified that Phase II includes Widening projects and that Phase II projects are being deferred for consideration until after the Corridor Study.
 - ii. John Crumm said Phase I is roughly \$50 million and that a buffer was maintained due to inflation but that all the money allocated to Macomb County will be spent.
 - iii. Bryan Babcock asked if the Phase II projects are in reserve.
 - iv. John Crumm said the Corridor Study will be performed to determine Widening and Reconstruction needs.
 - e. Gordie Wilson asked if there is a timeframe and budget for the Corridor Study.
 - i. John Crumm said initial information will be sent out in the first six months of the year.
 - ii. Roger Safford said a lot is unknown about the federal funding and programs, so the Subcommittee focused on the core surface transportation urban funding and expects a robust Phase II evaluation.
 - iii. John Crumm said the conservative approach is around



- \$25 million and that money is still available, and more money will come.
- iv. John Crumm clarified that some funding is set aside for Phase II.
- f. Paul Gieleghem asked about the MCDR Phase I projects and the local match.
 - i. John Crumm said it would be 50%-50%, but since 80% of a project's cost is covered by the federal government, it's really 10%-10%.
- g. Paul Gieleghem asked about the MCDR Dequindre Road Phase I project, as it is a border route.
 - i. John Crumm said Macomb County has an MOU with Oakland County on Dequindre Road and that maintenance of that section is Macomb's responsibility.
- h. Paul Gieleghem asked about Phase II's price tag of \$24 million and said that it sounds like the list will likely change based on the Corridor Study and consideration of Widening projects.
 - i. John Crumm confirmed.
 - ii. Paul Gieleghem asked if the same scoring system will be used; John confirmed.
- Dennis Champine asked about the City of Center Line Phase I project FY being indicated as TBD.
 - i. John Crumm said the TIP Update is due to SEMCOG by 1/28/2022, so the allocation will be done before then.
 - ii. Scott Wanagat said that FY constraints, geographic locations, County projects, readiness, etc. are being considered.
 - iii. John Crumm said there are opportunities to move projects ahead via Advance Construct programming, with justification and approval by MDOT.
- Motion to approve the TIP Update Memo and Recommendation by Jeff Wood; Dennis Champine moved to approve the City of Eastpointe project's Jurisdiction amendment as well; Jeff Wood accepted the amendment; the motion was seconded by Jim Van Tiflin; motion approved.
- 5. Q&A Committee Members
 - a. None.
- 6. Public Comment
 - a. None.
- 7. Next Meeting (Virtual) June 29, 2022 1:30-3:00 PM
- 8. Adjourn
 - a. Motion to adjourn by Dennis Champine and seconded by Scott Wanagat; motion approved.



b. The meeting was adjourned at 2:25 PM.

Attachments: Meeting Attendees

Reviewed By: Roger Safford, Dustin Elliott, Carly Mitchell; John Crumm, Chair, MCDR

Submitted By: Alexandra Horst, AICP

CC: File



Meeting Attendees

- Alexandra Horst
- Ann Pridemore
- Bryan Babcock
- Brent Bashaw
- Brandon Jonas
- Bryan Santo
- Carly Mitchell
- Catherine DeDecker
- Chris Liebert
- Crystal Kozak
- Denise Pike
- Dennis Champine
- Dustin Elliott
- Eric Dimoff
- Gordie Wilson
- Gentjan Heqimi
- Jeff Wood
- Jim Goetzinger
- Jim Van Tiflin
- John Crumm
- Joseph M. Sobota
- Ken Verkest
- Kevin Johnson
- Kyle Seidel
- Lou Urban
- Mark Collins
- Mary W. Bednar
- Michael Vigneron
- Michele Zawerucha
- Mike Kozak
- Paul Gieleghem
- Rich Amormino
- Roger Safford
- Ron Trombley
- Ryan Kern
- Scott Chabot
- Scott Lockwood
- Scott Wanagat
- Steve M. Brudzinski
- Steve Pangori
- Tina Gapshes